Parents are Wonderful

I am beyond glad that I have my parents in my life. I know that there are some situations where parents will treat their kids like crap, so I feel lucky. My parents are not perfect and I’m sure we’ve gotten into a million fights, but when I really start to think about it, I realize that they’ve given me everything I needed and more. They came to the U.S. as immigrants, and in the world’s current situation, I’m so proud of them for all that they have gone through to get to where they are. I won’t bring politics into this blog because it would be full of rants hah, but the point I was trying to make is that they have been there for me in every situation. They let my daughters father move in before I got pregnant because he was having problems with his family. About 2 months later it happened, but him moving in didn’t have anything to do with it since we were sexually active before that. When I found out I was pregnant, I was so scared and the first thing I thought was abortion. I feel so ashamed saying that now, but I felt like I would disappoint my parents by having a child at a young age. So I didn’t tell them. I went to my appointments during the lunch hour we had at school. Once I was in my third trimester, I was finally starting to show (I’m rather small and always wore t-shirts so you could never tell.) One day I was washing dishes and my mom just came out and asked me, and I simply said yes. She was ecstatic, and once I told her it was a girl she almost burst of happiness. So that knocked out the news for my parents since I knew she would tell my dad. He, of course, showed no real emotion since that’s just how he is, but he loves my daughter. They let us stay in the house, and my dad even went out of his way to expand my room (he’s a construction worker, perks!) Through all of the problems I’ve faced with my daughter’s father, they’ve always been there to let me know that they would help with anything I need. From baby clothes, to food, to other basic needs, they would always support me through it. In my current situation with having baby daddy moved out, possible divorce, and feeling like my life is falling apart, I’m glad I have my parents. Make sure you appreciate yours. They love you.

-K

P.S. Sorry for the late post!

Leave a Reply

